2020 I.O.L.I. Iso-LACE-tion Lace Contest Un-Conventional Rules

The 2020 Convention Lace Contest has been postponed to 2022 because the contest goes with the convention theme.  Some members thought a challenge is needed before the 2021 contest is announced.  So I.O.L.I. members are invited to participate in an Un-Conventional Contest.  Here are the Rules and Entry Instructions.

  1. All entrants must be members of I.O.L.I. for the current year of the Contest.
  2. Contest Committee members are not eligible to participate in the Lace Contest the year that they serve.
  3. Definition of categories:
    1. commercial facemask with your handmade lace that you applied.
    2. handmade facemask with your handmade lace that you applied.  (Someone else may construct the handmade mask for you.)
    3. facemask that promotes lacemaking or the well-being of lace makers through words and/or symbols with or without lace
  1. An individual may enter one facemask per category.
  2. The facemask must fit over the nose and mouth.
  3. Facemasks must be created in 2020.
  4. A photograph of the facemask will be the entry.

The photograph must be in .jpg or .tiff format.

  1. The photograph must be high resolution, at least 300 bpi.  Your chances of winning are better if you have a better photograph to show off your work.
  2. Photograph the mask on a plain background of contrasting, but not clashing color, if possible.  Avoid distractions in the background.  Allow some background so that the Bulletin editor can crop the picture for publication.
  3. No glass, plastic or Plexiglas may cover the mask, or it will be disqualified.
  4. All entries will be anonymous to the membership during voting so a mask must not be photographed on the lace maker.  We would have to get the permission of any person to make the picture available on the website and in the
  1. If the entrant designs the lace, a copy of the original pattern suitable for publication in the I.O.L.I. Bulletin and working directions must be submitted with the entry.  Designer will retain copyright.  Electronic submissions are preferred and may be submitted directly to the Bulletin Editor at bulletin@internationalorganizationoflace.org .
  2. If the entrant uses a pattern designed by a third party (a book, newsletter, or previously published work of another lace maker), provide information acknowledging the designer and source of the pattern. Do not submit patterns or directions.
  3. Deadline: Entries will be accepted through midnight July 15, 2020 wherever you are.
  4. Voting will be done via an online form beginning Wednesday and ending Thursday Central Time.
Location Voting Begins Voting Ends
Sydney Australian Eastern Time 3:01 p.m. Wednesday July 22 2:59 a.m. Friday July 24
Berlin Central European Time 7:01 a.m. Wednesday 6:59 a.m. Friday
London British Summer Time 6:01 a.m. Wednesday 5:59 a.m. Friday
Eastern Daylight Time 1:01 a.m. Wednesday 12:59 a.m. Friday
Central Daylight Time 12:01 a.m. Wednesday 11:59 p.m. Thursday
Mountain Daylight Time 11:01 p.m. Tuesday 10:59 p.m. Thursday
Pacific Daylight Time 10:01 p.m. Tuesday 9:59 p.m. Thursday
  1. The popular vote will be counted at the close of voting by the Lace Contest Chair and certified by the President.  In case of a tie, the President will cast the deciding vote.
  2. The winner of the popular vote for each category will receive a 1-year Complimentary I.O.L.I. Membership.
  3. Winners will be announced at the Friday Banquet

To enter, send email to: contestchair@internationalorganizationoflace.org and remember to attach the photograph of the mask to your message. Provide this additional information:

Name:

Email address:

Telephone number:

Category:

  1. commercial facemask with your handmade lace that you applied. Lace must be made by the individual who enters the facemask in the contest.
  2. handmade facemask with your handmade lace that you applied. Lace must be made by the individual who enters the facemask in the contest. (Someone else may construct the handmade mask for you.)
  3. facemask that promotes lacemaking or the well-being of lace makers through words and/or symbols with or without lace

Original design (submit pattern & instructions to bulletin@internationalorganizationoflace.org ) or
Designer & source of lace pattern:

Questions: contestchair@internationalorganizationoflace.org

Or Sally Olsen at 319-360-5447,

This entry was posted in Competitions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s